Makeup 101: Makeup Removers

So, you have all your lovely makeup on, but its time to take it off!

I  try to remove all of my makeup every night, but of course I have slept in it before, and my skin never looks good in the morning, and I always regret it! This is when makeup wipes are a saving grace! But here is a selection of my favourite removers, from cleansing balms to the wipes that aren’t too bad for the skin.

When I take my time I love using a good cleansing balm. It  melts every drop of makeup off your face, and leaves the skin completely makeup free. The best one I have found is The Body Shop Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter. It is silky soft, not greasy and can remove even the toughest of mascaras. It leaves my face cleansed and so soft. I have used cleansing balms/butters/oils before, but this is one that I re purchase time and time again (although one pot last a really long time).

IMG_4960.JPG

 

Micellar Waters have become really popular, and I understand the hype now. Just soak a cotton pad, wipe all over, and it removes makeup quickly. I have two that I really like. Of course, the first is Bioderma – which has become a bit of a cult product.

FullSizeRender 7.jpg

 

But I do understand why, it is so good at removing mostly every bit of makeup. Another Micellar Water that I really like is the Neutrogena Hydro Boost Micellar Water. This removes makeup, but also helps with hydrating the skin as well. Although not as tough as the Bioderma, it is really good. It also smells really nice which is a bonus!

FullSizeRender 6.jpg

 

On a night out I sometimes wear quite heavy eye makeup, with a lot of makeup, so I like to use a separate eye makeup remover, to remove as much as possible, without hurting my eye area. For this I love the Garnier Express Eye Makeup Remover. This is an oily formula, that you have to shake the bottle to mix the product together. It is slightly greasy, but this helps to break down eyeshadow and mascara, and does a great job of gently removing eye makeup, around the sensitive eye area. I soak a cotton pad with this and sit it on my eyes for a minute and then it swipes off easily, no rubbing required.

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

 

And then, theres the lazy nights, when only wipes will do! I have really been loving the Pixi Makeup Melting Cleansing Cloths. They contain Chamomile and Grape Seed Oil, which makes them so soft. Some wipes can feel scratchy on the skin, and sometimes hurt around the eye area. Not these! They are so soft and are amazing at removing makeup, and then leaving my face feel cleansed and so clean. They have been my go to recently (and the smell amazing!).

Another wipe I really like is Tea Tree Wipes, especially if I am having a problem skin day. These are great for the face, but I wouldn’t use them to remove my eye makeup due to the tea tree oil which can nip slightly. A good all rounder is Boots Essentials Cleansing Wipes – I love the cucumber ones. Gentle enough to do the whole face and eyes, although not the greatest at removing all traces of eye makeup, they leave my face feeling fresh.

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

 

Not a makeup remover, but something I love to follow with after removing my makeup is the Dermalogica Antioxident Hydramist. This is a great facial spray to refresh &hydrate the face. I use this before applying my makeup as well, to create a hydrated and soft base to begin with.

FullSizeRender 4 copy.jpg

 

 

I think it so important to take the time to remove makeup, as much as you can, as it really helps my skin to not break out or to look dull or dry in the morning. I know after long days or nights out we just don’t have the energy too, but it is worth it. Just leave a packet of wipes next to your bed, so you can even snuggle in, and then remove the makeup!

 

Leave a Reply

